Skip to main content

CINDAS Training Materials: Home

Descriptions, videos and user guides

What we do

CINDAS LLC provides critically evaluated materials properties databases for thermal, mechanical, electrical, physical and other properties of various materials including structural steel and aerospace alloys. Information is provided in web-based applications for searching and comparing continually updated data. 

How to cite CINDAS sources

How should CINDAS LLC databases be cited in references?

Many times we are asked how to cite our databases in papers. We would suggest the following are satisfactory for us, because they credit the original reference as well as the CINDAS interpretation of the data.

If you are only using the general section of description in the AHAD, HPAD or ASMD, then the following can be used:

Benedyk,J.C. (2016). Type 304 Family Stainless Steels. In Aerospace and High Performance Alloys Database (AHAD), Version 2.0. CINDAS LLC. Retrieved from http://cindasdata.com/

If from a specific reference such as reference 51, you need to refer back to original paper. This would also include any data taken from graphs. Every graph will show the original references for the data using the SHOW TEXT link.

Ma,J.C. et.al. "Microstructural Evolution in AISI 304 Stainless Steel During Directional Solidification and Subsequent Solid-state Transformations." Mater.Sci.and Engr. A444. pp 64-68. (2007). Retrieved from CINDAS LLC Aerospace and High Performance Alloys Database (AHAD). Version 2.0 at http://cindasdata.com/

From the Structural Alloys Handbook or Damage Tolerant Design Handbook, you need to go back to the specific reference for the data in the table or graph. For example, for reference 16:

Brothers, A.J. "Low-Cycle, Strain-controlled Fatigue Crack Propagation in Nuclear Piping Steels." General Electric. GEAP-10181. (June 1970). Retrieved from CINDAS LLC Structural Alloys Handbook (SAH) at http://cindasdata.com/

From the Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD) or the Microelectronics Packaging Materials Database (MPMD) the following format should be used:

King, E.G. "Heat Capacities at Low Temperatures and Entropies at 298.15K of Nickelous Oxide, Cobaltous Oxide and Cobalt Spinel." Journal of the American Chemical Society. 79. P.2399-2400. 1957. Retrieved from CINDAS LLC Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD). Version 10.0 at http://cindasdata.com/
 

 

CINDAS Video

Training Options

CINDAS webinars on how to use the databases are offered on request.

Preview or download a copy of the webinar presentation.

Product Updates